Oct 2013Oct 2012Sept 2011
This is the "Overview" page of the "BIOBASE" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
University of Southern California

BIOBASE  

Last Updated: Jul 25, 2014 URL: http://norris.usc.libguides.com/Biobase Print Guide RSS Updates

Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Main Applications

BIOBASE is a comprehensive suite of biomolecule knowledgebase and analysis tools.  

Genome Trax: functional annotation tool for sequencing data

  • Genome Trax maps manually curated Biobase contents, including regulatory sites from TRANSFAC, disease mutations from HGMD, biomarkers from PROTEOME, and 3rd party genomic variation features onto user NGS data. The mapping results can be directly outputted to major genome browsers.

PROTEOME: manually curated knowledgebase for proteins

  • PROTEOME features disease, drug, biomarker and pathway information for proteins manually curated from PubMed abstracts and over 500 full-text publications.  Users can also perform statistical analysis to identify disease, pathways, or processes that are over-represented by a geneset of interest.    

TRANSFAC: largest Eukaryotic gene regulation database

  • TRANSFAC database covers the most comprehensive transcription regulation information, including experimentally validated transcription factor binding site, positional weight matrices (for transcription factor binding prediction), promoter sequences and features, miRNAs and their target sequences, and extensive structural and functional information on transcription factors and composite elements. 

ExPlain: unique data analysis workflow that combines functional classification and transcription regulation analyses

  • Explain investigates how transcription factors act together to affect gene expression.  With ExPlain's pathway data, users can gain insight into the key upstream signaling regulators influencing the activity of these transcription factors and identify key therapeutic targets or biomarkers.

HGMD (Human Gene Mutation Database):  comprehensive database for human inherited disease mutation

  • HGMD provides disease-related mutations information manually curated from peer review publications.  Search the database to determine the novelty of identified gene mutations, explore the genetic cause of a disease, or map mutations to a full genome. 
 

Access BIOBASE @ USC

USC has licensed BIOBASE for the free use of USC faculty, students and staff.  The license consists of unlimited access to USC usersTo get your BIOBASE account:

  1. Carefully check out the BIOBASE user policy
  2. Fill out the BIOBASE registration form
  3. Activate your account following the link in the confirmation email sent out by BIOBASE (may take 1-2 days)
  4. Log in here to use BIOBASE
 

Need help?

Get started

BIOBASE consists of multiple products.  For each product, watch the introductory video to learn its basic features and general use instructions.  For detailed steps, watch the short videos. 

Help @ BIOBASE

Help @ NML Bioinformatics


HOME - JOURNALS - BOOKS/MULTIMEDIA - DATABASES - eRESOURCES - CATALOGS - COMPUTING - LIBRARY INFO - LIBRARY SERVICES - CONTACT US

©2011 Norris Medical Library 2003 Zonal Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90089-9130 (323) 442-1116 medlib@usc.edu

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip