Information resources for graduate students in all biosciences and health disciplines.
Last Updated: Mar 6, 2015
These databases will help you find articles related to the life and health sciences.
Don't see what you're looking for? Check out our A to Z list of health science databases.
- Biosis Citation Index
Life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more.
- Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about groups in The Cochrane Collaboration.
- Faculty of 1000
Identifies and evaluates the most important articles in biology and medical research publications. The selection process comprises a peer-nominated global 'Faculty' of the world's leading scientists and clinicians who rate the best of the articles they read and explain their importance.
- LexisNexis Academic
Database of full text online news, business, financial, legal, medical, biographical, government and domestic and international newspaper resources.
- MEDLINE (OvidSP)
The database, produced by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) is most frequently utilized for health sciences topics.
A bibliographic database providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 12 million citations from MEDLINE and additional life science journals.
Reaxys is a web-based search and retrieval system for chemical compounds, bibliographic data and chemical reactions.
- SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts)
Registry of more than 22 million chemical substances
Scopus contains 21,900 titles from more than 5,000 publishers around the world, covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and Arts & Humanities. Has unique tools to track, analyze, and visualize research.
- Web of Knowledge (Web of Science)
Multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information including Science, Social Sciences, and Arts & Humanities.
Use these databases to investigate genes, proteins, pathways, sequences, structures, and functions. Results will include journal articles, fact sheets, raw data from researchers, structural information, mapping information, and book chapters.
Need more help? Contact the Norris Medical Library's bioinformatics program.
- BLAST (Basic Local Alignment Search Tool)
Find regions of similarity between biological sequences.
The DrugBank database is a unique bioinformatics and cheminformatics resource that combines detailed drug (i.e. chemical, pharmacological and pharmaceutical) data with comprehensive drug target (i.e. sequence, structure, and pathway) information.
- EMBL Nucleotide Sequence Database
Europe's primary nucleotide sequence resource. (Users in the U.S. users may prefer to use NCBI GenBank site for sequence retrieval).
Librarian created guide highlighting how to use Genevestigatory. Genevestigator is a multi-organism microarray database and expression meta-analysis.
- NCBI Genbank
GenBank is the primary sequence repository, containing the annotated sequences as submitted by the original authors.
Librarian created guide highlighting how to use Nextbio. Nextbio is a web-based discovery platform that provides a practical way to mine vast quantities of complex biological, clinical and literature data.
Librarian created guide on using Oncomine. Oncomine is an tool for examining gene activities in a particular cancer or across multiple cancer types.
- Protein Data Bank (PDB)
Provides a variety of tools and resources for studying the structures of biological macromolecules and their relationships to sequence, function, and disease.
These databases provide clinically-oriented information to support health care professionals. Includes summaries of multiple journal articles; book chapters; drug monographs; clinical decision support tools; and other clinical information.
Not finding what you're looking for? Check out the Clinician's Portal or select a medical specialty from our A-Z subject guide list
Allows searching of over 1000 differential diagnoses by symptoms, diseases and organ systems.
Knowledge database for information regarding global infectious diseases.
Search for summaries and detailed monographs for drugs, toxicological managements, reproductive risks, and acute/emergency care. Find drug interactions, generic names, dosing information.
UpToDate is a collaborative effort of thousands of physician educators. For each clinical issue, an expert in the field reviews the topic, synthesizes information, summarizes key findings, and provides detailed, practical recommendations for patient care.